Jessica Bratton


Jessica Bratton has always had a passion for fashion.
Add Image
“I used to cut up my clothes when I was little and try to piece them together with other clothes to make cute outfits,” she said.

As she grew older, it became clear that fashion was more than a hobby.

She began modeling at age 17 and fashion trends and styles became important.

But at age 18 and a senior in high school, she became pregnant and her fashion dreams were put on hold.

“I was upset and scared that my life was about to change and I didn’t know how I was going to be a mom and still pursue my dreams of working in fashion,” she said.

After the birth of her son, Jace, and a couple of dead-end jobs, she decided to start classes on the NW campus. She attended classes during the spring of 2003 and continued off and on for several years.

She juggled school and being a single mother for several years before deciding to concentrate on a fashion merchandising certificate from TCC.

“I heard they had a fashion merchandising certificate that students could earn and thought it was the best way for me to learn about what I loved,” she said.

Jessica began taking courses in the fall of 2005 while she was pregnant with her second child.

“I was determined to get through the year and graduate all while being pregnant,” she said.

Bratton continued through the spring semester and even got married during that term.

Bratton gave birth to her son, Phoenix, who was four weeks early in February 2005.

“My son came during the middle of the semester and I was worried about missing too many days of school. I had come so far and was almost done,” she said.

Bratton managed to only miss three days of school and graduated that May with a 4.0 GPA.

“I don’t know how I did it, but I managed to finish school, become a wife and a new mom that year,” she said.

Today, Bratton is a single mom and a mother of two boys who have become her world.

“My boys are my everything, and I want to make them proud of their momma,” she said.

Her love for passion is still great, and she still models for local clothing stores and events around town.

“I live for fashion and incorporate it into my life in any way possible. My boys are the best dressed in their school,” she said.

She is currently taking online courses at TCC and wants to pursue a degree in business.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

