Linsey Gourley


Linsey Gourley wanted to be a nurse her whole life.

“I have always loved to take care of others and thought it was a perfect fit to be a nurse,” she said.

Gourley started her college career at Texas Tech and after two years decided to come back to Fort Worth and start nursing school at TCC.

She was accepted into TCC’s nursing program in the fall 2005.

“I was thrilled to be starting the program and felt so lucky to have been chosen out of a big pool of students who had applied,” she said.

Gourley finished her first semester with a 4.0 GPA and began her second semester in the spring 2006. One month into her second semester, she began to wonder if this was really something she wanted to do.

“I was loosing the passion I had for it and became interested in the business aspect of running a hospital,” she said.

Gourley finished the semester but did not return for the summer term. She met with advisers and discussed a degree in hospital administration.

The following fall she began classes at the University of North Texas.

“I decided to pursue a degree in organizational behavior and hoped that I had made the right decision,” she said.

Gourley graduated from UNT in the spring 2008 with her bachelor’s degree in organizational behavior. She began working for Harris Methodist Hospital in the patient relations department.

“I was happy with my choice and loved my job but wanted to go back and get my masters degree,” she said.

Gourley is now working on her master’s degree in hospital administration from UNT and is expected to graduate this August.

While she is happy with her choice to pursue a different career, she explains how much she learned while in nursing school.

TCC has one of the best nursing programs, and I consider myself very lucky to have been a part of it. I learned so much about patience and compassion and carry that with me today,” she said.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

