Bart Desender

NE Campus intramural director and PE instructor Bart Desender said moving to the United States has fulfilled a life long dream.

Born and raised in Belgium, Desender moved to Texas when he was 19 years old. Desender chose Texas as his new home, so he could go to school at TCU.

Graduating with a master’s in kinesiology, Desender has pursued a life teaching others the importance of physical education and staying fit.

“I worked at the Four Seasons Resort in Las Colinas for 10 years of my life,” Desender said. “And up until last December, I was a group exercise instructor at 24-Hour Fitness for two years. I did it just so I could get more experience being a better instructor.”

Right now, Desender is working to become a full-time instructor at TCC.

In describing his move to Texas, Desender said it’s the “pioneer” in his heart that brought him here.

“Men cannot discover new oceans unless they have the courage to lose sight of the shore,” Desender said. “That’s always been my slogan since I was a teenager. When you’re young in Belgium and all your high school buddies and relatives are in Belgium, you think about the mystery of America, where John Wayne is. For me, I left my familiar world, all the comfort and predictable, for the great adventure in America. I chose that great adventure and never looked back.”

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

