Kayla Shortridge

Kayla Shortridge is late for class, and her take-home test still isn’t finished.

The NE Campus freshman is hunkered down at a table in the student center, and no amount of clicking and clacking on her Dell is helping to fill the blanks on her test form.

“I don’t like school in general,” she said. “I don’t like deadlines. I don’t like pressure.”


Shortridge, a 2010 high school graduate, was a talented and recognized artist throughout her early and high school careers but has since lost motivation for her passion.


“I have to feel it,” she said. “I have to have the urge. I can’t set aside time and plan to do it. It just has to happen.”


She was in advanced placement art classes during her junior and senior years and received college credit for work done in those classes. However, her experience with art at TCC hasn’t been as positive.


“I took art last semester,” she said. “It was a life drawing class, and I hated the teacher. So, I decided to try something new this semester.”


Shortridge is undecided on a degree plan but wants to do something with visual arts. Without a real goal, however, she is losing motivation for TCC as well.


“I might go to hair school,” she said. “I don’t know yet.”


She plans to finish out one more year at TCC because of a student loan but has no plans to transfer or continue after that.


“I try not to think about the future too much,” she said.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

