Dianne Espejel

NW student Dianne Espejel’s love for helping others and her curiosity of the human body continues to drive her forward in her medical career.

Straight out of high school Espejel started working in nursing homes, and it was there she discovered her love of medicine.

“My experience there made me realize that I loved to make a difference in the lives of the people I helped,” she said. “Working around the nurses, I would learn things, and I was intrigued.”

Espejel then went to the High Tech Institute in Dallas, where she became a certified surgical technician. From there, Espejel started working in hospitals and operating rooms but found that her quest for knowledge was not yet complete.

“Being in the operating room every day, I would encounter more and more things about the body, and it made me want to go back to school to have more knowledge on how to help others and climb the career ladder as well,” she said.

Espejel discovered TCC to be the most convenient option and is currently working on her associate degree. She does, however, dream of the day she reaches the top of her career ladder, which for her, means a job as a coroner.

“People usually think I’m a weirdo, but I have always been fascinated with the body,” she said. “Becoming a medical examiner is just another way I can help others…just a different one.”

Taylor Jensen

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.