Kevin Price

With his brimming smile and upbeat personality, it would be hard to believe that TR student Kevin Price was a gang member in Compton, Calif.

During his freshman year of high school, Price said he was unknowingly initiated into the gang after being jumped by several gang members. He chose to remain in the gang so someone could have his back.

“When I moved to California, we literally had to fight every day,” he said.”I had a fight on my first day of school, and I didn’t even know anyone. I felt like I didn’t want to deal with that by myself.”

Price didn’t graduate from high school, but he moved back to Fort Worth and received his high school diploma from Job Corps. He decided to get serious about life when his son K.J. was born.

“Gang-banging is for little kids, and I stopped a lot of it because I have a son. I didn’t have a choice. I had to do something with my life,” he said. “I have five brothers, and I’m the oldest. I feel like I have to set an example and show them that’s not the life they have to live.”

Price began attending TCC in spring 2011. He plans to major in radio and television broadcasting and eventually do sports broadcasting.

“I want to have my own show like Flavor Flav,” he said.

 —Ashley Johnson

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.