Chad Laster

NW student Chad Laster gets up at 3 a.m. and starts work at 5 a.m. Monday through Friday for a mobile home manufacturing plant.

“I’m a utility guy, a supervisor,” Laster said. “It’s a very labor intensive job, but I enjoy the work.”

He clocks out at 7:30 a.m. to go to school, goes back to work at 9:30 a.m., works until 1:30 p.m. and comes back to school at 2 p.m. for his Algebra class.

“It helps that my job is close to school,” he said.

He worked four and a half years to help his wife go to school full-time, and now he plans to finish his degree and get licensed to be a physical therapist.

“She got a degree in general education and currently works with special needs children in elementary school,” he said. “Now I’m in school full-time.”

He said he prefers to take things slowly, especially when it comes to technology.

“I’m a dinosaur in a young man’s body. I don’t text,” he said with a playful smile. “I’d rather talk, and I’d like to continue to spell well.”

— Shirlett Warren

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

