Haley Harvey

 Haley Harvey has taken college life to the next level. She recently moved out on her own for the first time.

“I’m excited but nervous because it’s hard going to school and working two jobs,” she said. “I don’t want to quit my other job because I’m afraid there won’t be enough [money] for bills and what I like to spend my money on.”

She is enjoying the freedom that comes with living in your own place but giggles at the thought of her boyfriend restricting her on purchasing things. The NW student has been known to be a frequent shopper.

Harvey is studying dental hygiene. Like a majority of college students, she has had trouble in the past picking the right major that fits her. But she is still learning. One of her jobs is opening her eyes to the real world.

She is the youngest server at a breakfast restaurant. She said she sees many older co-workers complain about having to work so much but they can’t afford to quit.

“I don’t want to be like that. I think that’s what is pushing me a little bit because at Willy’s they are all my age or younger, they’re going to school, high school still. But then I can see reality more into [my other job] because these people are having kids, are on food stamps. If their kids are sick, what are they going to do, bring their kids to work with them? They’re waitresses so they can’t just call off,” she said.

-Kelli Henderson

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

